Humbled: Pilates

I like to think that I’m in good shape.

I’ve run some marathons. Qualified for Boston. I can do 3 spin classes in a day (although not a regular thing). Maybe throw in a barre class here and there.

Yeah! Running! I can do that!

Yeah! Running! I can do that!

And, then I took pilates with Elizabeth (aka Chainsaw? Just go with it) at Flex today.

It was humbling, slightly embarrassing, and I’d probably now just consider myself in “good cardiovascular shape.”

I pride myself on being really tough and able to handle really hard classes because, you know, I’ve run marathons! I’m a resident! What’s harder than a marathon?! Or harder than a day on the labor floor?! Nothing! I should be able to handle anything, right?

Pilates. Pilates can be harder than a marathon.

You know a class is hard when you’re going to the 5K pain place, sweating to death, and actively thinking of ways to possibly cheat (yep, I went there). In fact, at one point I tried to some something on my knees rather than in plank position and Elizabeth every so sweetly came over and said, “honey that’s not going to do anything for you.” No slacking allowed. I was getting my money’s worth. [PS: Thanks, Elizabeth!]

As a bonus, the whole reformer thing makes it not so easy to take breaks. One wrong move and I was afraid I might plummet 3 feet straight down into the well of the reformer into Pilates hades.

I was shaking. I was sweating. Like all those laboring patients I see, except I wasn’t birthing a child.

And, for some reason, I loved it.

It was extremely humbling. I knew I lacked core strength but this class really drove the point home.

I only wish I had known about this class when I was training for marathons and trying to do anything (acupuncture!) and everything (chiropractor!) not to get injured.

Elizabeth was super sweet, gave great technical corrections (the former gymnast in me always loves this), and doesn’t allow you to give up (even if you try, like me).

So, moral of the story — Go! Take her class! Bring your A game! Moreover, bring your abs.

TELL ME: YOUR FAVE NYC FITNESS CLASSES AND/OR INSTRUCTORS.

Currently, I’m loving Jaws and Akin at SoulCycle and just took a class at Chaise 23 with Rachel and loved her, too.

Until next time….

5 thoughts on “Humbled: Pilates

  1. Pilates IS so hard! That is the truth! I took my first reformer class a few weeks after Boston last year and I was in more pain than mile 25 of the marathon. It was so humbling. Running fitness does not equate to overall strength. I’ve been taking atleast one class a week now and have seen so much improvement in my speed and form.

  2. i take pilates at least once a week in Atlanta and have been for a year and half. I LOVE it. and STILL feel the way you do. I’m much, much stronger-but sometimes need to cheat to not die. I take private sessions, so cheating is hard. 🙂

  3. (Yes, I’m this far behind in reading blogs. Oops?)

    I started doing pilates because I’ve heard that the core stabilization/strength stuff is so good for running, which I believe. Some of the moves are really easy (I’m probably doing them wrong…), but others leave me begging for the set to be over. And I’m not always coordinated enough for the moves…point up, flex down? I might get it by the end of the set…

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

