Back to Booking

I started re-writing this blog more regularly back in July/August when I started being “the booking resident.” And, here I am, again, being the booking resident. The days are shorter and its much colder.

The 2nd half of the year in residency starts out somewhat dysthmic (it is winter, people), but then slowly becomes more and more pleasant. Everyone knows and had honed their job. The ship basically steers itself.

Things that have happened since I was last the booking resident:

  • I did my first robotic hyst. I was a big robot naysayer for a while, mostly because it intimidates me and I thought docking the Si and then figuring out how to manipulate was going to kill me. Now, that I actually got to sit, I’m like “THIS IS THE BEST!” And, docking the Xi is way easier. [For those not in the know, google “Da Vinci Robot.”]
  • I did 5 weeks of nights.
  • I feel like I became much more confident at making decisions [at work]. Life, that’s another story. Chronic over thinker.
  • I ran a half marathon in 1:45.
  • I have survived a billion bad Bellevue calls.
  • I signed up for the NYC Half, and am going to run it for Every Mother Counts!
  • Tisch got a new cafeteria and it rocks.
  •  I took December mostly off of running and started going to PT for my right glute/IT band/back.
  • I went home three times!

That’s enough. I’m tired of this list. A lot happens in 6 months!

I ran in the park tonight. The cold wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be (20 degrees).

There is something really magical about running in the park at night. It always makes me so happy to live in New York.

There were a surprising number of people out – tons of groups and solo runners. I don’t know why I thought it would be empty. If its true that “there is not bad weather, only soft people,” then New Yorkers definitely aren’t soft people!

I’m putting more effort into truly “training” for this half, as best I can as a resident. I know there are plenty of people out there that can get it track workouts, tempos, and long runs in on a 60-80 hr per week work schedule. I am not one of them! If I get 2/3 (i.e. one workout of any kind and one long run) a week, I’m going to buy myself a Levain cookie at the end of the training and eat it.

Final thoughts. I’m turning 30 at the end of this month. I feel like I’m supposed to feel something monumental about turning 30. Or sad. Or like I don’t want to. I mean, its not like you have a choice not to get older, right?! Plus, your teens and 20s are filled with a lot of uncertainty, instability, and acne- who wants that? I think if you had asked me at 18 years old where I’d be when I was 30, I’d have a very different answer. I guess I’d thought I’d be a lot further along and “settled” in life at this age, which I’m not, but I guess you really don’t know much about life when you’re 18 (even though you think you do! or I did).

The biggest part about turning 30 that I fear is the aging of my ovaries. These are things only gynecologists will obsess about. I see a rising FSH and decreasing AMH in my nightmares. I’ve been wanting to get my day 2 labs checked, but am too afraid of the results. I just want these guys to hang around shooting out hormones and good eggs as long as they can. I think its really unfair that women’s ovaries age. I’m really mad at Eve for eating that apple and committing us to aging ovaries and whatever other suffering came from her succumbing to temptation.

I think that’s all I have to say tonight.

Until next time…

Night night…

Daily coffee tally: 3

One thought on “Back to Booking

  1. as an almost pediatrician (MS4 matching this March!) I too fear my aging ovaries. you are not alone! haha. p.s. I really enjoy reading your combo of residency/running/life posts!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

