The #1 Thing Women Talk About In OB Triage

Well, maybe not the #1 thing, but its in the top 10.

People love to get talking about the mucous plug.

For those, not in the know, mucous is like gooey stuff, like your snot, but this kind is in the cervix and it should not be green like the kind from your nose (if it is green, see a doctor ASAP). If you need a little anatomy refresher, the cervix is the opening to the uterus. Its approximately 4 cm long in a normal, non-pregnant person, and throughout pregnancy, it shortens and the, with labor, it opens. The cervix is what has to get to 10 cm and thin for you to then push a baby out.

I think primips (first time moms) get really stoked if the mucous plug is expelled thinking labor and the baby is just around the corner. Sometimes, it means that the cervix is change and labor is impending. Other times, you might not go into labor until a few weeks.

I feel bad when I have to tell patients in triage that their mucous plug, while nice information, isn’t super monumental to me. At least in triage…where we’re trying to figure out if you’re in labor or not. I really wanna get stoked about the mucous plug with you,if I could.

I know, I’m sorry first time moms. I really feel your pain. I mean, I haven’t literally, but do you know how hard it is to tell someone that they’re only 1-2 cm and, sorry, you’re not in labor?!

Anyways, if you’re pregnant, and you want to be the all star triage patient, here are the questions you will most likely be asked.

  1. Your due date
  2. When the contractions started, if you had a gush of fluid, if you had any vaginal bleeding, if the baby is moving
  3. When your last appt was and if you were examined (i.e. a cervical exam)
  4. Your Group B Strep (GBS) status
  5. Any medical problems, surgeries, medications you’re taking every day, allergies
  6. Is the pain so bad you want an epidural or medication? (This helps us triage in our minds admission versus “walk for 2 hours” vs go home)

That’s all I have to say about the cervix and stuff.

On residency:

How anyone can date or have a successful marriage/relationship is beyond me.

I feel extremely selfish in residency. When I leave work, its about my workout, my sleep, my hunger, my needs for a manicure, my not wanting to talk to anyone and stare at a wall.

You know those days where you are so tired, you literally just want to lie in your bed and stare at the ceiling?

HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO FIND ANY BODY WITH A WORK SCHEDULE LIKE THIS?

I now understand arranged marriage, tele-dating, long distance, etc.

Wait, is tele-dating a thing?

Anyways, other observations on the world:

  1. The Pope is in town. I’m not Catholic but, I mean, I kind of want to meet the Pope one day. The whole papal pageantry is sort of magical, right? Ok, maybe I’m thinking of Dumbledore and not the Pope.
  2. Who is GiGi Hadid and why is she always on “Who What Wear” twitter feed?
  3. Everyone is running for president in the Republican party.
  4. It is fall.
  5. There are a lot of ways to spell my name (given name). Meghan. Meagan. Megan. Megyn (apparently)
  6. Its almost October (WHAT?!)

I always tell people that with residency “the days are long but the years are short.”

Time is flying. Sometimes. Not all the time. Not when I need the 3rd coffee of the day and I can’t get it because the labor floor is bananas.

Anyways, that’s all.

Bedtime.

Until next time..

Daily Coffee Tally: 3

3 thoughts on “The #1 Thing Women Talk About In OB Triage

  1. I love this post, (not so much the mucous plug part, I’m an ER nurse and we stay away from that kind of thing), but the residency part. I met my husband when he was a resident (3rd year of 5), and it is a struggle. There were times that it felt like we saw each other in passing at work more than at home. We got engaged/married once he was an attending, and things were a little less crazy (in theory). I am always amazed at the residents who are getting married, starting families, or living long distance from their partner during residency. The good news is that there is an end point and it’ll come faster than you think!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

