Track Workouts and A New Marketing Plan for the IUD

So, last night we went over the pelvic exam and how the vagina is not a potential space and is, indeed, finite.

Look, no one really looks forward to the pelvic exam. But, should you see your gynecologist yearly, yes?

Why?

Well, first of all, gynecologist are fundamentally awesome people. Like myself.

Second, you need an exam to make sure nothing is wrong and you need birth control, unless you have a religious, moral, or other objection to it.

BIrth control is something I deal with every day. As I mentioned before, my favorite website to refer people to is bedsider.org for information on all things contraception.

Unintended pregnancy is something I see a lot, as well. Which is why I mention birth control method with every single patient.

In my counseling sessions, when I mention the IUD, I get a lot of “oh no not something inside me thats so weird!” or “my moms friends had those and they got all messed up” or “I’m not gonna have sex anymore.”

I want to walk around with a button that says “NOT YOUR MOM’S IUD.”

Whoever is marketing the IUD, needs a new scheme. We need to really repair the image of the IUD. Why? Because IUDs are awesome. It is like having gold in your uterus. Yes, I tell that to the patients. “I’m putting gold in your uterus right now.” But, seriously, IUDs are like $700 so it is sort of like gold.

If it could, the IUD would really need to go on Dancing With The Stars to rid itself of its image from the Daikon Shield days. Prove to everyone its lovable, friendly, and safe.

Maybe we could make IUD sound trendy and cool. “The IUD – its electric! Boogie woogie woogie.”

Or maybe we should walk around with buttons that say “Ask me about my IUD!” Its true- something like 80% of gynecologist using birth control use an IUD. Or some impressive number like that.

Anyways, IUD marketers – let’s be friends? Start a twitter feed? Let’s repair the image of the IUD.

Moving on to something far less exciting, running.

The love affair continues. Running and I eloped to Tahiti tonight. It was beautiful.

I decided that I want to try to do one track workout/tempo and one long run per week until a half marathon I’m running in October. Obviously, this is energy and time permitting.

Last week, I did the 10 min tempo, 6×1 min on/1off, 10 min tempo, which added up to about 3 miles worth of “work.” So, I thought I’d keep the volume the same but change it up a bit and do 3 x 1 mile. I also like doing this workout as the mile sort of serves as a benchmark for me, giving me a small indication of what kind of shape I’m in.

I ended up feeling really great. I did the first three in 7:15, 7:14, 7:11. I felt so good and oddly motivated. A little voice inside of me said “you can do one more, just go for it, its only 7 more minutes of your life.” I then spiked an imaginary football in my head and was like, “let’s do this, track!”

So, I did. 7:11.

I neglected the fact that I still had to run home after this. A mile seemed really far then (I live about a mile from a track).

So, that was my night.

Which is now ending. Dream land is calling.

Night night.

Until next time.

Daily Coffee Tally: 3

PS – Every time the coffee man said “just milk, no sugar,” I really wanted to say “Nope, I’m already sweet enough!” I refrained. Maybe tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Track Workouts and A New Marketing Plan for the IUD

  1. Yo Meggie! Long time no virtual correspondence.

    First of all, have been wanting to say that I love your new blog format. I think you’re really onto something here. Maybe your stream of consciousness is just exceptionally interesting, but I look forward to reading it 🙂

    Second, on the IUD topic – I have one and I love it, BUT there is a caveat. Getting the thing put in me was a horrible experience. I was warned that it would be “uncomfortable,” but it was so, so far beyond uncomfortable – and I’m an athlete with a super high pain threshold. I was pretty much about to pass out when my OB-GYN freaked and aborted the whole procedure, I think she thought she was going to kill me.

    Then – for all you girls out there who are now saying, “Okay, that’s it, I am not getting one” – THEN she told me that she would be happy to try it again under sedation. I got knocked out with some drugs and of course it was no problem at that point.

    My words of warning, therefore – I’m concerned that some doctors are so eager to get people comfortable with IUDs (which they should be, because I do agree with you that there is basically no better mode of contraception out there) that they are downplaying the seriousness of the actual insertion. My understanding is that it’s no big deal if you’ve had kids, and that it’s easier if you have regular periods, but if you’re childless (me) and/or have a history of amenorrhea (me) it can be pretty awful.

    So, girls out there, if you have any doubts about your body’s ability to handle the insertion thing, I highly recommend insisting that you be sedated or otherwise provided with chemical assistance on the FIRST try. I was pretty pissed that I wasn’t even given that option before being dragged through the whole painful unpleasant ordeal of trying it drug-free.

    <3,
    Kate

  2. Is the IUD covered under insurance in the USA? I’m quite shocked at the $700 price tag. In Canada, I paid $70 for my “generic” copper IUD, and I believe the Mirena is $400 – this was not covered by my optional/prescription coverage but I believe it often is (to clarify, in Canada, while medical treatment is socialized; prescription and drug care is in most cases covered through additional insurance).

    For the first few months I wasn’t sure I had made the right decision, but at 8 months in I would recommend it to anyone, so long as it was a semi-longterm decision, since those first 5-6 months were unpleasant. Based on my research (google) I went in under the impression that because I wasn’t on Hormonal BC and even so had easy periods, that I wouldn’t have a huge change, but it did impact my life. I didn’t pin point it for several months, but I became quite iron deficient which was miserable, I could barely climb stairs let alone keep up with my marathon training plan. The only change we could attribute it to was the new IUD and somewhat heavier (but not outside the realm of normal) periods. Once that was sorted out, and I’d endured the “settling in” period it is great. I do still wish I hadn’t experienced iron deficiency. I’ve now been supplementing for 4 months and my iron is on the upswing but when I get it replaced/after I have kids, I will get my iron tested earlier and more often.

    I’d also ensure to go to a women’s clinic where this is a normal procedure for the docs. Again, this may be different in the USA but in Canada we generally see a general practice doctor, my friends who have had their GP insert IUDs seem to have had more painful experiences, probably just due to it not something they do with the same frequency.

    Actually, my other word to the wise if you’re considering an IUD – do not read the internet. There were forums out there that nearly made me cancel my appointment.

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

