Running, I Missed You, Too

Running and I were on the outs for a while.

I blame winter.

For a while, I just wasn’t really into running. Maybe because it was dark and cold. Maybe because I spent a good 4-5 years running a lot and devoting far too much thought into qualifying for Boston. I got hooked into the NYC fitness class craze and I fell hard.

Now, I still love all my “activities,” I truly do. But, lately I’ve been feeling this pull back towards running.

Why?

Running can be…meditative (as my friend Jocelyn, likes to say — that its like a white noise machine and a chance to be do something, yet thinking about nothing at all). Its blissful. Its soothing. Its like a white noise machine.

This must be how a baby feels when its all swaddled and what not.

Anyways, the running spirit moved me to do a “workout” tonight. My last “workout” (track, tempos, you get the picture) was 6 months ago and the one before that was probably a year ago. So, suffice it to say, I wasn’t sure what hit me (or what kind of shape I’m in), but when the spirit moves you, you go with it, right?

I did a little workout called the #icecreamsandwich that Lauren posted on her Strava blog.

10 minutes tempo, 6 x 1 min quick/1 min off, 10 minutes tempo.

When you haven’t done a workout in a long time, 10 minutes can seem like an ETERNITY. The first tempo was relearning all of my old “tricks” to zen out and focus only on one foot in front of the next. The 1 min intervals go by super quick. The second 10 minutes was actually pretty wonderful, even if still painful. It was like this beautiful, focused 10 min of a pain train. I even forgot what songs I listened to.

I surprised myself with 7:30s on the tempo portion. I think that is pretty good for me. I don’t know what it says about my fitness level, but I do know that all I can think about now is getting an actual ice cream sandwich.

Damn you, Lauren, naming workouts after delicious things.

I don’t have much to say about residency tonight other than high risk clinic was a doozy today.

We had a couple of patients that were transfers of care (we are the tertiary referral center for HHC hospitals i.e. all the high risk pregnancies come to us) and I luckily or unluckily drew them in the pile of OB patients to see. Going through a stack of papers and making sense of it all was taxing. Or maybe I just didn’t put enough cinnamon in my coffee.

Finally, a little bit of appreciation for the day. I have a theory that we, as humans, don’t tell people enough how much we appreciate them and care about them. So, for today:

I have to give a shout out to our MFM Fellow, Cara, who is wonderful and makes high risk clinic a pleasure.

And, a shout out to Neha, who matched in UroGyn today! She is going to do beautiful pelvic reconstructive surgery one day!

Thanks to Jess; giving her tips and workouts for her first marathon has reminded me how fun training can be.

And, finally, a little virtual high five to my buddy, Jocelyn, whose unwavering love of running maybe had something to do with me realizing I missed it (translation: a lot to do with it)!

Night Night…

Until next time..

Daily Coffee Tally: 3

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

