Animals

7/22/15:

Do all working people feel like caged animals sometimes?

Today, when my co-resident pressed herself against the window and we all longed to go outside for 2 min (mostly do defrost since Bellevue’s AC is blasting in clinic), I thought to myself “we really are like caged animals.” Tied down by pagers and a strong urgency to get. things. done. Preferably, 5 minutes ago .

The benefit of this is not knowing anything that is going on in the world. If we get blown up by Iran, then it will be a surprise to me. And, apparently, Donald Trump said something derogatory (again) about something (are we surprised?). I’m fine not knowing.

What I do know is that math is confusing. And math is everywhere.

I was reading a paper today (two, actually, as I have to prep two articles to present this week). You know what will make you head spin really fast? Reading the statistics in a paper.

For example:  

“In the intention-to-treat group, vaccination also statistically significantly reduced the risk of any high-grade cervical lesions (19.0% reduction; rate vaccine = 1.43, rate placebo = 1.76, difference = 0.33, 95% confidence interval [CI] = 0.13 to 0.54), vulvar and vaginal lesions (50.7% reduction; rate vaccine = 0.10, rate placebo = 0.20, difference = 0.10, 95% CI = 0.04 to 0.16), genital warts (62.0% reduction; rate vaccine = 0.44, rate placebo = 1.17, difference = 0.72, 95% CI = 0.58 to 0.87), Pap abnormalities (11.3% reduction; rate vaccine = 10.36, rate placebo = 11.68, difference = 1.32, 95% CI = 0.74 to 1.90), and cervical definitive therapy (23.0% reduction; rate vaccine = 1.97, rate placebo = 2.56, difference = 0.59, 95% CI = 0.35 to 0.83), irrespective of causal HPV type.

Really cool information but my eyes are very overwhelmed!

Reading papers also makes me still realize that I can’t grasp some concepts without writing them down. Paper to pen is powerful, guys. side note: I still want to buy this weekly schedule notepad. Its graph paper!

Currently..

IMG_6475

Question of the day: How many salted cashews a day is one too many?

Gave up dessert. Replaced that vice with almonds, pistachios, and cashews.

Night night.

Until next time…

Daily coffee tally: 2 (one was even “high elevation grown coffee” which is apparently a fancy coffee thing now)

One thought on “Animals

  1. I just told my techs the other day that I felt like we were in animals in a zoo. As a pharmacist in a busy retail setting, having patients STARING at me while I’m trying to correctly fill their prescriptions, analyze for drug interactions, check for allergies, etc….it makes me crazy! I’m not going to go any faster because you’re staring at me!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

