A New Idea…

…of “micro-blogging.”

I used to love writing all of my thinks on this blog. Then, residency happened and I barely have time to pee anymore, much less keep up a blog.

However, I thought about trying to write a few sentences each day (or, let’s be real, every couple of days…ok, maybe once a week) about my day so I can document this extremely busy, but significant time in my life: residency. It would mostly be my internal dialogue, which I guess is what people do when they keep diaries. I’m a extrovert, so I’m just putting it on the internet.

For instance, today would read as below. Let me know what you think. I’ll keep it up if people (HI MOM!!! HI ALLY!!! GOOD LUCK ON THE BOARDS!) actually like it. Otherwise, I’ll continue telling my all thoughts and neuroses to my friends (HI JOCELYN!!! HI JAWS!!!).

7/20/15:

First day as booking resident. Finished high risk clinic early so I went through and made really detailed notes on all the patients coming to booking tomorrow and prepping the consents. I hope this makes clinic go more smoothly. I made a copy of all of my notes for my chief, too. My hand is really tired of writing “bleeding, pain, infection, damage to surrounding structures” under the “risks” portion of the consent. PSA: the risks of any surgery are bleeding, pain, infection, and damage to surrounding structures. Now that I have done this, I’m sure it will be a whole different panel of patients. I also wrote the consents in blue because the black ink on my four color pen (this is the lifeblood of a resident) wasn’t working. If I have to rewrite them all in black, I might cry.

I booked my chief a really awesome LAVH (laparoscopic assisted vaginal hysterectomy), maybe VH (vaginal hysterectomy- my favorite surgery) and I am really proud of myself.

I like to plan ahead. It decreases my anxiety. For this reason, I have no idea why I went into or love obstetrics, which is the most unpredictable thing in the world (besides the fact that, that eventually, the baby must come out one way or another). I think its because I really love getting people to deliver vaginally if possible mostly because I hate arrest of descent C-sections. I love screaming babies out of people (if they need the screaming). Its like being a fitness instructor, but I think my result is a little cooler.

Boxing and blueberries are having a really big moment in my life right now. Boxing is a hard work out. I love it.

I feel like that girl in Willy Wonka with the blueberries.

I am breaking out in rashes everywhere. The powder on the gloves. The scrubs. I have some KP-ish look thing on some parts of my body and contact dermatitis on my feet. I am becoming so atopic I swear I’m going to have asthma soon.

I am not as tired as I thought I would be after my reverse 24 hr call Sat-Sun. I only had 1.5 coffees today (usually 3-4). This surely means I will be exhausted tomorrow.

That being said, night night.

Until next time…

3 thoughts on “A New Idea…

  1. I love this- maybe has something to do with having 2 babies in the last 2 years but I think what you do is fascinating. I don’t know how you handle the schedule and sleep disruptions- it’s one thing to have to get up a few times per night for feedings vs working all night long. Anyway, also wanted to say that I have something to help with your KP. I don’t want to spam your blog with links, but if you are interested send me a message and I’ll hook you up 😉

  2. Longtime lurker 🙂 I had to crack up at “it’s like being a fitness instructor”. I recently viewed the entire experience from the other end (I was the one having the baby) and that was exactly what it felt like while pushing, except the L&D nurses were like an ultra crew (three hours of pushing).

    Also – they may be scattered, but they are still very entertaining and valid thinks.

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

