To Do List For 2015

Some people call them resolutions, but I’m not really into the whole resolution thing. It seems so stern and, well, resolute. That’s a lot of pressure. A list of little check boxes just seems so much more attainable, most likely because my life revolves around the almighty list of holy resident checkboxes.

So, here’s are some things that would be nice to achieve in 2015. But, let’s get real, no one is going to die if these don’t happen.

Or so I think.

[Also, none of these are work related as those would probably be incredibly boring to you. All 5 of you reading this. Suffice it to say my attitude towards work goals for myself for 2015 can be best summed up by Britney Spears, “You better work, bitch.” Fellowships don’t match themselves and/or jobs don’t’ find themselves, either. And the same can be said for the robot[ic surgery] training.]

Anyways, here goes:

1. CONTACTS – FOR REAL THIS TIME.

C-section? Easy. Contacts? HARD.

I said I’d do this in 2014. And, then I went on isotretinoin (the drug f.k.a. accutane) during which it is not recommended to try contacts since your eyes are so dry (and, if I’m not mistaken, make you a bit more prone to eye infections – yikes!). So, I had a very convenient excuse not to get this one done.

Let’s try again this year. And, its no wonder I wasn’t interested in ophthalmology – I can’t even touch my own eye, let alone operate on one!

2. RUN THE NYC HALF UNDER 1:50.

In old Meggie running land, this would have been pretty achievable on most days.

In resident Meggie running land, I have no idea how fast or slow I can or do run.

I run sometimes. I spin sometimes. I go to Barry’s sometimes. I pilates sometimes. I do as the spirit moves me.

To commit to a training plan or a lofty time goal is fairly unrealistic for me given the day job that I have.

1:50 seems like a time I can achieve using my non-training training plan. It’s respectable and its at a pace where I’m not jogging.

Sure, it’d be nice to run under 1:40 some day. But, I’m not sure residency is the best time for that.

If the spirit moves me a little faster than 1:50 (1:45 even!) that’d be nice, but I have bigger fish to fry at the moment than a PR.

3. TRY A KOREAN BODY SCRUB

As if I didn’t put my skin through its paces with the almost total body (or at least face) desquamation brought on by accutane (see #1, also side note – very worth it), I want to try a Korean Body Scrub.

As far as my internet research as led me to believe, these are slightly aggressive, yet effective body scrubs in which your skin will feel like Valentino suede boots.

Apparently, you have to be entirely nude in front of other people, but seeing as I’m a OB/GYN resident, I feel like maybe its only fair for me to be stark naked in front of someone else after I’ve done that to so many women while simultaneously enthusiastically counting to 10 or yelling, “PUSH!”

I might have to do some more research on this one.

4. USE SELF TANNER MORE FREQUENTLY.

Sometimes I look in the mirror and think “has that person seen the sun in a while?”

The answer is likely no, but, like many things in life, I feel like I should start faking it until I make it on this one.

5. GO TO YOGA MORE THAN ONCE

I went once last year (thanks, Jaws!)

It won’t take much to beat last year.

I don’t stretch – ever – so I should probably get addicted to yet another workout class that will at least bring about some flexibility into my life.

Because I need another fitness craze like I need a hole in my head. But, there are worse things to be addicted to, right?

[Ali, I’m counting on you!]

6. TRY A DANCE CLASS

I feel like its important to try something new everyone once in a while. Something that makes you feel like a complete beginner and/or completely incompetent. I think it makes you appreciate what you do know how to do a bit more.

And, like Justin Bieber (or was it Zach Efron?) said – YOLO.

7. EAT LESS SUGAR. EAT MORE FAT.

According to everything I read or watch lately, sugar is addictive and its killing us. The sugar industry is like the tobacco industry of the 1960s – contributing to significant public health crisis and not owning up to it.

It would be unfathomable to not eat sugar entirely. It is, of course, in fruits and vegetables and I eat at least six apples and a bag of baby carrots a week. And, giving up chocolate for good is entirely unrealistic for me. I mean, my collection of dark chocolate bars from Mast Brothers can’t go to waste!

I think what I’m more interested in becoming more cognizant of is that added sugar that is so pervasive in our food industry. Go read labels at the grocery store. Its alarming how high sugar (or some derivative of it) is on most ingredient lists and how many grams there are total in some items (sometimes more than 20 g!)

In regard to fat, I read (meaning I skimmed the highlights) part of a book called “Grain Brain” written by a neurologist. Apparently, we are doing a disservice to our brains by not eating egg yolks and using skim milk. I need to read a bit more on this, but that’s the gist I got from very briefly reading parts of that book.

Two changes I’ve made are cutting down on some bars (when I’m not in a huge rush and can actually grab real food), juice, and fake sugars (like Vitamin Water Zero, sadly; it increases threshold of real sugar needed to attain sweet taste) and changing from 0% Greek Yogurt to 2%. [I already used whole milk in coffee– its just so much better.]

I know, I lead a supremely exciting life. 2%. Really living on the wild side.

8. READ A BOOK THAT IS NOT RELATED TO WORK AT ALL.

Just one book. Over an entire year. If I pick a book that is 365 pages, that’s one page a day. Which is about what I average at night before promptly falling asleep.

9. RUN A RACE WITH A FRIEND/PACE SOMEONE IN THEIR FIRST HALF MARATHON

I did this for the NYC Marathon in 2013 with Gia and paced my friend, Meagan, to her first half marathon finish last May.

Running a race with a training buddy and pacing someone to their first half marathon finish were both fun and special. The showed me how much running has impacted my life and maybe how I can use it to affect another.

I’d like to do both again.

[Jocelyn, you in?! I’ll bring the camera for the photo-ops.]

And, who out there wants to run their first half marathon?!

So, in sum and in a form that is far more familiar to me:

[ ] contacts

[ ] NYC Half < 1:50

[ ] Korean Body Scrub

[ ] Self Tanner

[ ] Yoga > 1x
[ ] Dance Class
[ ] Less Sugar, More Fat
[ ] A book

[ ] race with friend/pace a friend

I probably won’t get all of these done. But, let’s try…

TELL ME: ON YOUR TO DO LIST FOR THE NEW YEAR IS….

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

6 thoughts on “To Do List For 2015

  1. I love Korean body scrubs. You can do it yourself if you buy the Italy towels (the ones without the sponge) and know/are willing to scrub yourself raw with it. But I recommend going to a Korean spa in Queens first. There’s really nothing like it. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

  2. Forget the contacts…I can’t put them in…have trouble putting in drops…I did get corrective lens after my cataract surgery when I was in my seventies and that was a big improvement .

  3. Love the idea of a to-do list. Also, the yolk is clearly the best part of the egg, so whenever people avoid yolks, I feel sad. A week of sugar has left me feeling awful so I think a similar “less sugar, more real food” goal is in my future.

  4. love it!!! some of these need to be on mine- only made it to yoga once and since i’m in skincare sales (sunscreen, specifically) i NEVER tan. I finally got tan towels and vow to use them for the same reason as you!! my #1 for 2015- FORCED downtime. I run myself ragged until exhaustion and need to be better about saying no and being a bit selfish.

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

