Too Hot. Too Cold. Next Time – Just Right?

I needed my 5K sugar fix so I jumped in a local (TN, that is) 5K yesterday. It was for my sister’s pharmacy school so how could I not support?!

Sister and I.

Sister and I.

In my last 5K, I started out a bit too conservatively and at the finish felt very controlled. My “goal” was to not to start out controlled…to go out harder and see what happens.

"Ok, so just stay with all of the guys. OMG I am a genius. This is the best idea ever - to try to run with these men." <-- not exactly the best idea ever, as it turns out

“Ok, so just stay with all of the guys. OMG I am a genius. This is the best idea ever – to try to run with these men.”

So, I ended up taking the first mile out a bit too hard [for me] in 6:50. Good news: That’s the first time I’ve ever run a 6:xx mile in a race. Bad news: Like I said, first time I’ve ever run a 6:xx in a race, which means it probably shouldn’t have been the first mile of any race for me (unless its a 1 mile race).

In the end, I finished in 22:44, the exact same time as my 5K a few weeks ago. To say I slowed down after that first mile is an understatement.

However, I didn’t really mind. I wanted to go out hard and I took my self imposed directions very literally. I was happy to “make a different mistake.”

Thank you, Dad, for capturing this absolutely gorgeous picture of me.

Thank you, Dad, for capturing this absolutely gorgeous picture of me.

So, if I started out too slow in one 5K, and too fast the next, then the next 5K should be just right, right?!

I think this is one of the reasons I really like 5Ks…I think the strategy requires a bit more precision, but, in the end, even if you start out too fast (or too slow) you know you will still live to see the end fairly soon (or speed up to make up some time). I like the challenge of trying to get that strategy right, too [yet, I guess this argument could apply to the marathon, too.]

And, hey, you like 5Ks? Wanna run a “virtual” 5K? Benefit a good cause?

Then, check out Abby’s “Kick Ass” virtual 5K on April 9 to benefit the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA).

CCFA helps to raise money for Crohn’s and Colitis research. Both diseases are forms of inflammatory bowl disease (IBD), which are incurable (unless you have you colon removed, which is what ends up happening for most colitis patients). Patients with IBD have to cope with diarrhea, stomach pain, joint pain, alterations to their diet, skin lesions, fevers, night sweats, ostomy bags…the list goes on. Check out Abby’s blog to read more as well as Ali’s blog.

TELL ME: LOVE OR HATE 5KS? LAST RACE “MISTAKE” YOU MADE? LAST RACE YOU RAN PERFECTLY? KNOW SOMEONE WITH IBD?

Until next time…

 

9 thoughts on “Too Hot. Too Cold. Next Time – Just Right?

  1. I’m a 5km lover as well. Hurting that much is fun! I also love that you can run them quite frequently with minimal recovery time.

    I’ve been running 800m and 1500m all summer (southern hemisphere summer that is) so now the 5km actually seems a really long way…

  2. I can’t remember the last time I ran a 5k…so I have no tips to share other than you have to run fast the entire time…

    My marathon plan is always to go out fast and hold on…which never works. So clearly I need to change that plan!

  3. I love that picture! So in the moment. I think i go out too fast for shorter races a lot – the last time I did that was at an NYRR 4 miler and totally died the last two. Sometimes I think I’ll never learn…

  4. I always seem to go out too fast on the first mile of a 5K, and then I just try really hard not to throw up for the rest of the race. Or slow down, because really hate when people pass me!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

