Icing On the Cake

As an fyi, I’m going to do a separate post on some of my reasons for choosing OB/GYN and other questions people asked to do the answers justice (for this long winded writer). For now, I wanted to talk about Match Day and the NYC Half while the thoughts were fresh on my mind.

Match Day was the cake, the icing, the ice cream sundae, and the cherry on top. I was elated to match exactly where I wanted and even more overjoyed that my school’s match day was wizard theme a la Harry Potter and the sorting hat. Nothing says “I’m about to be a doctor” by getting handed your residency placement by people in wizard hats. ๐Ÿ™‚

Please note wizard hats in the background.

Please note wizard hats in the background.

Calling my parents

Calling my parents

Unfortunately, we were actually sorted by a computer algorithm...

Unfortunately, we were actually sorted by a computer algorithm…

Jocelyn came as my personal paparazzi (these Kodak moments only come along so often, right?!) and her enthusiasm for all things Match Day deserves its own post, but suffice it to say she was the best cheerleader there could ever be! Jocelyn wears her heart on her sleeve and is very, hmm, emotive. It was so fun to have her there. She enjoyed it so much that I think she wants to make it an annual tradition of hers. A Match Day crasher, if you will…

Match Day does have good food. Can’t say I won’t be joining her.

The outpouring of congratulations and love was overwhelming. Thank you to everyone who congratulated me or sent some sort of nice note.

I probably unnecessarily tortured myself in college, studying for the boards, and over this whole match process, but, in the end, I think it was well worth it. When I was toiling away in the library, this feeling of contentment and ability to choose “what I want” is what I was working for. I often told people I studied hard to ensure myself “options.” I’m glad to see all of that work (or self-torture) come to fruition.

[Full disclosure, it was actually my mom who told me way back when that no one every regretted studying hard because getting good grades always gives you options – it often puts you in the driver’s seat. Guess Momma does know best.]

After the excitement of Match Day on Friday (and the anxiety all week before), I wasn’t so sure how the NYC Half would go. My training has been great, if I do say so myself (or at least, very good, let’s not get too boastful!). However, the emotional drain of the match + the fact I was pretty sure I was getting a cold made me question how the day would go.

[Just an fyi – at the onset of any cold, I start taking Zicam (zinc), hydrated, and rest.]

I guess the relief of the whole match finally being over drained all of the nervous energy and I ended up feeling great today. I ran 1:42:25, a PR by a little over 4 minutes and definitely the “icing on the cake” to my sub 1:45 goal.

It ended up being just “one of those days” when its easy to find “the zone” and the pace just comes to you rather than you forcing any pace. I ran the first mile in 7:52, much faster than I anticipated starting, but, surprisingly, didn’t freak out. My mantra for the day was “loose and fearless,” and I think I lived up to it, at least during some of the miles.

[Full disclosure, “loose and fearless” was also given to me by mom from back in the tennis days. GAH, momma really does know best.]

The two best parts of the race were seeing Ali, Susan, and cheering squad right after mile two and Beth + Abby in Times Square. Ali yelled “EVERYONE’S REPLACEABLE,” a line from Dance Moms, and, no lie, I dropped a 7:34 mile that mile. You know what I was thinking about? How excited I was that Dance Moms was two hours this week.

Mile 3

Mile 3

For the first time since New Haven 20K 2011, I wore my Garmin in a race. I wanted the data for after. I looked at the splits each mile, but didn’t run to the watch, per se. It’s like the time didn’t register with me and didn’t evoke an emotional response. I ran how I felt, I felt pretty good, and whatever time that was, it was.

For those who like splits out there, here they are: 7:52, 7:58, 7:34, 7:58, 7:57, 7:38, 7:49, 7:38, 7:43, 7:42, 7:45, 7:49, ? [tunnel!].

My general strategy was to conserve on the hills, making the first 10K slower than the 2nd by 15-30 seconds. I didn’t want to make my legs unnecessarily tired on the hills. I then told myself to “roll” through times square and “push” once I got to the West Side Highway, but subtly, not like drop the pace drastically for the next 10 min then die kind of push.

It felt good, controlled, fast, fantastic, sunny, joyful, and all those things you dream a race could be.

Krista, myself, and Corey post-race

Krista, myself, and Corey post-race

My hip is fairly sore and it, along with my back, did start to bother me along the West Side Highway but much improved from Miami. It didn’t alter how I was running and since I know its nerve irritation from a muscle pushing on it (most likely) I wasn’t concerned with not pushing myself for fear of injuring myself. Nothing a few more chiropractor, acupuncture, and massage sessions can’t fix. [OR SO I HOPE. Hope I didn’t just jinx myself there.]

Anyways, it ended up being one of those cloud 9 weekends. Sometimes, I get worried when things get “too good” as I know a “crash” might just be next. But, for now, I’m soaking it up and about to go PR in Levain Bakery cookie eating.

For reference, the title of this post refers to how I’m looking at my running right now. I won’t get to train like I do now in the next few years. I’m relishing the opportunity to do be able to and anything that comes with it is really just the icing on the cake for me. I never dreamed I’d be this “into” running when I first started nor chasing these “big” goals. It’s really all fun, there is no downside!

TELL ME: I KNOW A LOT OF PEOPLE RACED THESE WEEKEND – BEST PART OF YOUR RACE? SCORE A NEW PB? PR IN COOKIE EATING? DRINK LOTS OF GREEN BEER? TELL ME THE BEST PART OF YOUR WEEKEND…

PS – Go wish my coach, STEPH, a huge congrats on her PR today (and 1st american!) in the NYC half and my running buddy, GIA, a huge kudos for a 3:32 marathon today (3 min PR, BQ!). There were many fantastic races this weekend – almost too many to name!

23 thoughts on “Icing On the Cake

  1. So happy for you! And you made me want a levain cookie right now! I PR’d in the DC half this weekend, although on little training and nowhere close to as fast as yours. Less important than the time was the reminder that racing is fun, and hard, and I want to do it again and again! Totally rekindled my love for the run ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Meggie, I’m sitting here reading this and I just want to give you the biggest hug in the entire world. Huge huge congrats. You are such a freaking rockstar. Tappan’s here with me as well and we just both think you’re the most wonderful thing since sliced bread!

  3. Congratulations Meggie!!!!!! I was anxiously awaiting some type of post on Friday saying where you matched. I wondered if it would be NYU. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congrats on the shiny new PR too!!!! What an awesome way to cap off the weekend and the start to your new journey in residency.

  4. So, so happy for you Meggie! You deserve all of this good stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you’ll be sticking around for a while, but sad we won’t be at the same hospital! Wouldn’t that be fun?? Hope you’re still on a big huge high from such a great few days.

    PR TWINS!

  5. Congrats on everything amazing going on in your life right now! Yay for more years in NYC and your first choice! I also knew your would do well this weekend. You need to believe in yourself more…

    I ran NYC and did what I planned to do. Now for a hard week of training and taper and then finally time to race!!! Not racing this training cycle has been the best thing bc all my racing excitement is bottled up and ready to spill out ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh wow, congrats on all of this amazing news!! You clearly work hard at whatever you set your mind to, and deserve all of this goodness!! Hope you have a chance to take a deep breath and celebrate!

  7. Congrats! I am so happy to hear about your match and your PR, You deserve all the good thing coming your way. You’ve definitely more than earned them.

    In other news, I suggest offering yourself to be a part of a NYU marketing campaign. I’m pretty sure you are now the poster child of the university.

  8. Congrats on official doctor-dom (although I will call you “future doctor Meggie” until graduation…milk it a little longer) and so glad you’ll still be in NYC! Apartment hunting soon??

    Annnnnnd PR! Such a great weekend!

  9. Pingback: NYC Half: Round 5 | The Thinks I Can Think

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

