Running in 2012: A Fun Q&A

I saw this form of a post on both Jess and Jocelyn’s blogs and thought it was fun, reflective, and timely. So, here goes. I will try not to bore you as I realize probably the only person who really cares about the details of my running life is, well, myself.

1. Best Race Experience

The Eugene 5K.

At least I look like I'm actually running in this picture.

At least I look like I’m actually running in this picture.

After not running, but spinning my way into 2012 due to the ol’ IT band, the Eugene 5K was my first race “back.” I remember being, initially, a bit depressed that I couldn’t run the half and thanking the Lord that I wasn’t running the full. Before this race, I wasn’t really sure where the 5K fit in with my running ethos, and, to be honest, wasn’t so sure about running in general. I feel betrayed by my lower left limb and a bit broken.

I think (time smudges the memory a bit) I was fairly nervous before this race. I think I was scared I wasn’t fast (relative) anymore or that some part of my body would blow up in flames. Before the race, I got a nice little pep talk in which I was reminded “whatever it was you were before, it’s still in you.” And, that was calming.

Thankfully, almost to the finish..

Thankfully, almost to the finish..

In the end, I ran just under 23 min — 22:56 or 22:5x or something like that. It was a nice confidence boost and reminder that there is more to running and racing than the half and the marathon. It renewed my spirit and gave me purpose again. And, best I’ve all, I learned PR does not stand for “personal record,” but rather “pastry run.”

And, lest you forget, this race was the impetus for the #5Krevolution. Propaganda video forthcoming. Current title: “The Little Race Distance That Could.”

#5krevolution Gang Sign

#5krevolution Gang Sign

2. Best Run

18 miles with Gia on some hot and sticky Indian Summer October day.

Katherine (our hostess), Jess, Gia, and I after the Richmond Marathon.

Katherine (our hostess), Jess, Gia, and I after the Richmond Marathon.

Long runs aren’t my strong suit. Unless given some major objective to achieve, I tend to run them very slowly. That’s my MO, for some reason – I never really have the confidence I can “make it” whatever long distance at anything other than a 10 min/mile clip, which I am the master of.

Gia and I ended up running 3 loops of Central Park (18 miles) in an 8:42 average with a few faster miles thrown down in there. It showed me that I maybe had more in me for those long runs than I thought I did. While I only had a few more long runs left after that one for NYC Marathon  Richmond, I’m definitely going to try to take that long run mojo into training for Eugene (which has not commenced yet, but will at some point in 2013).

3. Best New Piece of Gear

Rundelicious Long Sleeve – perfect weight alone for not-too-frigid winter running and a good layer for frigid winter running

Apparently, also the favorite of other people...

Apparently, also the favorite of other people…

4. Best Piece of Running Advice Received

1. “Don’t think, just go” — told to me by many people when training for NYC/Richmond

And later I put this on an Erica Sara "Say It, Do It" Bracelet

And later I put this on an Erica Sara “Say It, Do It” Bracelet

2. “This is going to hurt. If it doesn’t, you’re not doing it right…” and other quotes to help me get to the “pain place” — from Jocelyn and Jen B

Jocelyn laying down the law.

Jocelyn laying down the law.

5. Most Inspirational Runner(s)

This is a tough one, but here are a few:

1. Jocelyn: For pushing me, but always finding the fun in running. And for introducing me to Stew Leonard’s fro-yo.

This is why I run.

This is why I run.

2. Gia: For being the epitome of joy and self-belief. And time management with her twins!

The 16 mile run that planted the fall marathon seed in my brain.

The 16 mile run that planted the fall marathon seed in my brain.

3. Lauren and Steph: For being the most perseverant and courageous people I know. Plus, they feed me via Picky Bars.

Me + RC

Me + RC

Me + L-train. Day of the start of the #5krevolution - 4/28/12. I'm posting that so historians will accurately know how to date it.

Me + L-train. Day of the start of the #5krevolution – 4/28/12. I’m posting that so historians will accurately know how to date it.

4. Ben and Jen B: For their versatility…Seriously, Ben like goes and does a new distance all the time and places. Its weirdly amazing. Same for Jen B. And both are really fast. I’m going to try to figure out how they do this.

Correction: Ben is now married to the RC, making him now RCH.

Correction: Ben is now married to the RC, making him now RCH.

Jen B flying!

Jen B flying!

5. The Oiselle Chicks – Sally, Mac, KMet, Lesko, JJ, and Kerr: For their innovation in fashion, advocacy in running politics, and belief in the power of running.

I am so honored to be a part of #oiselleteam.

I am so honored to be a part of #oiselleteam.

And too many more to name…Katherine and Jess for always running joyfully…ok, fine I’ll stop…

Final Q: If you could some up your year of running in 3 words, what would it be?

                                 :: joyful, spontaneous, fun ::

And spontaneous is a new thing for me. If you know me, spontaneity is also not my strong suit.

TELL ME: CARE TO ANSWER ANY OF THE QUESTIONS ABOVE?

Until next time…

9 thoughts on “Running in 2012: A Fun Q&A

  1. Funny- I answered these same questions on my blog post yesterday. I added a couple of new ones too, but I liked how simple and short it was. Glad that your start to 2013 is better than 2012. Means that good things are in store for you!

  2. Dude, I feel like we need to start a #StewsRevolution.

    Also – I like how when I’m “giving you advice” (aka yelling at you), your expression is like “What’s happening? I’m confused.”

  3. Had fun reading this post. Your mindset, determination, and attitude makes you one of my favorite running bloggers so thank you for that 🙂
    I love to read how every runner’s journey is unique and different, but we all have the same passion for it. The journey and motivation may vary, but the fire is often the same!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

