Running With It

Well, people, we (ok maybe just me) can all breathe a sigh of relief right now. I’ve made it to the 2 weeks to go point with no injuries. Barring any “typical for me” accidents (fall off a curb or trip on my own shoes) in the next two weeks and looks like I’ll make it to the start healthy. Booyah.

My training has gone very well (in my probably inflated opinion of myself), maybe even better than other marathons I’ve trained for. I had another confidence boosting long run yesterday – 16 miles, 8:32 avg, miles 9-13 @ 8:15, 7:57, 7:53, 7:47. Considering the wicked humidity (summer’s last stand?), I’d say it was one of my best long runs to date.

I feel like some sort of running God is telling me, “I am handing you a fantastic marathon on a silver platter – take it and run with it!”

So, I think that is what I’m going to do. Not think about it, just run with it. Of course, I have to play my cards right to get said good marathon on noted silver platter.

To achieve such, I have come up with my RC approved strategy, which is extremely sophisticated and is as follows: you start the race with a tank of gas, I have to get over the Queensboro bridge (apprx mile 16) with half a tank of gas, and, I’ll do the math for you, I have a half of a tank of gas to spend on the last 10. This strategy  is to ensure I don’t do a death march through the Bronx and 2nd half of Manhattan. My goal time is anywhere between 3:35 and 3:45.

I know…where has the type-A gone?! A fluffy tank of gas analogy as a race plan and a time goal that is a 10 min window?  Have I been breathing too many nail polish fumes?!

In other news, I had my first suit experience of my young adult life and, Hilary, I feel your pain. The pant suit leaves much to be desired.

Vote for me!

Skirting the issue.

And, to end, two rather girly questions that don’t necessarily concern me, but are thinks I or my friends have thinked about and I want to see what everyone else thinks about these thinks.

1) The Period Issue: Mess up your race? Not make a difference?

2) The Race Weight Issue: Make a difference at the “commoner” level? Something to be concerned with? Doesn’t make a difference (ie maybe the mental game is more important unless you’re a professional)? Never weigh yourself like me so woudn’t know the difference?

TELL ME: THOUGHTS ON EITHER OF THE TWO ABOVE?

12 thoughts on “Running With It

  1. I think that the running god is right! You are going to have a great race. I have no doubts about it.
    Aren’t suits the most uncomfortable outfit ever? I hate wearing them. I feel like a dork when I do. I don’t see how people can wear them everyday. At least you looked cute!
    I have never run a 1/2 or full marathon while on my period. Knowing that I can get bad cramps I would probably not have a good race day if I was on mine.

  2. I have a feeling the whole “race weight” thing is mostly mental at our level. I mean, I imagine carrying an extra three pounds or whatever might make a bit of an impact, but if you train with those three pounds then I don’t think it should matter. It’s not like they just magically disappear come race day, either, so I don’t see how losing any extra weight could help!

    I’m sure you’re going to have a kick-ass marathon. No freak accidents, okay?!

  3. hooray, nice run! And I would vote for you, just saying. Hmmm, race weight. I’m actually not sure about this one. I’ve gained about 1.5 lbs since I started marathon training in June but I feel good and strong, so I think that counts more, you know? At least at this very non-professional level 🙂

  4. Being on my period during a race has never made a difference to me. I had mine when I ran my marathon PR earlier this year (TMI? sorry).

    I don’t know if weight necessarily makes a difference; if anything it’s health habits. I was eating a whole lot of crap, not sleeping enough, etc., in the spring and I’m sure it contributed to a few less than awesome races.

    Looking good rocking the pantsuit! 🙂

  5. I actually have run many of my PR’s on my period. I actually hope I have my period on race day. I don’t want to race the 7-10 days before my period as that’s when I am the most sluggish… I keep track of all of these things and have seen the pattern in my training.

    I don’t pay any attention to race weight…

    I have also gotten away from type A race planning and have a 10 minute window goal for NYC…hahaha

    Glad you are feeling ready to roll!!

  6. 1) for me, doesn’t make a difference. but i think this one is highly individual.
    2) i’ve PR’d 5 lbs heavier and 5 lbs lighter. i think it messes with you mentally more than physically. when you’re lighter you feel better as opposed to the “meh” heavy feeling.

  7. I’ve not ever run a race during my period, thank goodness. But I think it would really depend on how miserable it is for the individual runner when not racing.

    Ahhh weight…I’ve put on about 5 lbs between when I ran my last half and now. It doesn’t sound like a lot, but I feel like my training this time around has been more difficult. So who knows.

  8. Girl you are so going to rock this marathon! I’m so excited for you! I find myself in the same position where I had a very “non time oriented” goal for my next race but now with some surprising workout results I find myself making more numerical goals. I love the Just run with it idea tho. And the pantsuit…ok maybe not that. Period wise, I would rather have it than be Pms-ing, but that might just be me.

  9. I like the suit….with pants. And the gas tank…half a tank going into Manhattan!

    I had my period when I PR’d last fall…so I ran fine. I just hope it’s never the “omg cramps make me want to have a hysterectomy” day when it’s marathon day, and I’m golden. In high school my best races were when I had my period…maybe that was a mental thing.

    I don’t weigh myself…ever. High five.

  10. I tend to feel stronger on my period and perform better in workouts. I’ve never had one for a full though. I may this year then I will report back.

    I don’t weigh myself but think that I feel best toeing the start line when I feel not over stuffed. I find this difficult during taper when the lack of usual movement makes me feel blah at time.

    And I love me a good suit, which I guess is good since my chosen profession requires them.

  11. I don’t know what this race weight thing is.. but maybe I’m just too amateur as a runner to understand!
    And I’m all about the suits.. I used to wear suits daily and loved it; so simple – not much to think about! Now I’m all business casual and have to think of a whole outfit daily instead of just what shirt am I going to put in 😉 Yours looks cute!

  12. Thank the heavens that I have yet to race on my periodical (that’s what I call it for some strange reason!). I am sure that it would not be the most pleasant issue, yet not a PR deal breaker ya know.

    Wear that pantsuit like a boss Lady! Looks good :-)…..and have I told you that I think you are going to have a wonderful race day, cause I do think!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

