Things I Think You Should Know About

Or that I felt worthy to tell my adoring public.

wait a second…

1. HOMELAND

It seems I’m about a year behind in discovering this show. It’s an awesome drama with a psychological bent that is extremely relevant to the current times. I finished the first season in less than one week.

Season 2 starts at the end of the month…plenty of time to catch up.

2. RACE PHOTO TAKERS MUST BE USING A WIDE LENS

Or use the same process they use to blow up cereal to “show texture.” Just a thought…

Or maybe that is my problem…the ice cream…

3. RACE MEDALS AND BIBS: KEEP VS TOSS

Do you keep them or toss? Been thinking of giving my non-marathon medals to my babysitting kids (I’ll keep the marathon ones).

4. JAIME LEE CURTIS’ “MY BRAVE YEAR OF FIRST” AND HER OISELLE DUDS!

You can read more on it here, but Jaime Lee Curtis ran a 5K (#5krevolution member?) decked in Oiselle! I have the big run tee so we can be twins.

Her newest children’s book is titled “My Brave Year of Firsts” and running a race was one of her “firsts.” Isn’t that the best part of childhood? Conquering fears and trying new things? First pop fly caught? First time riding a bike? First time trying peas (this one took me several years, actually…I had a fear of peas).

I’m grateful to have found running at age 23 — it’s allowed me a lot of “firsts” in my 20s!

First “race”

5. TAYLOR TOWNSEND USTA CONTROVERSY

You can read more about it here and here , but the gist of the situation is the USTA recommending 16 year old Taylor Townsend to skip the US Open in favor of working on her fitness and slimming down. The USTA even went so far as to withdraw funding for travel to this year’s US Open for Taylor and denied her petitions for a wild card into the US Open main draw or qualifying tournament. Taylor did enter the US Open junior girls draw (the USTA cannot stop her from entering an ITF event, her family footed her bill) where she made the singles quarters and is in the doubles final.

Tennis has traditionally been a sport protected from the weight game, unlike gymnastics, dance, running, etc.  Women can be tough enough on themselves (potentially evidenced by #3 today) and self esteem as a teenager can be tenuous. It saddens me to see the USTA hurt and potentially discourage one of its brightest prospects (she is the #1 ranked junior girl in the world and won the Australian open girls singles and doubles as well as the Wimbeldon girls singles titles this year).

TELL ME: THOUGHTS ON TAYLOR TOWNSEND AND THE USTA’S SUGGESTION TO HER?

Until next time…

8 thoughts on “Things I Think You Should Know About

  1. Does weight affect tennis playing as much as some of the other sports you mentioned? I think the reason that so much pressure is put on weight for those is because it affects performance a lot. However if Taylor is playing well and it is purely an image thing that would be really really disturbing…

    I keep all my bibs and medals! Anything other than marathon medals sometimes seem wasteful…

  2. I hate race photos, I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks they choose the worst angle!

    I keep my bibs, and write my race time on them. Medals usually end up in a black hole somewhere – if we move house I’m sure they’ll turn up in the weirdest places!!

  3. Oh my goodness, I didn’t know about the whole Taylor Townsend thing. That seems so obnoxious, especially given her age. That kind of behavior from a professional organization, and the fact that it’s now all over the news not only affects Taylor, but a ton of young girls everywhere that now (if not already) probably question their own body image. Kind of makes me sick.

    I keep all of my race stuff!

  4. I definitely keep all of my race day medals, though some kind of annoy me, like cheaply-made ones I’ve gotten for 10Ks and 10 milers. How much did it cost to produce all those? Seems wasteful. I also have a medal from my first marathon attempt (2010 Country Music Marathon), and since it was shut down early due to severe weather, that marathon medal means nothing to me since I only ran 20 miles that day.

    I don’t keep bibs…I guess it would have been cool to keep my first round of NYRR 9+1 bibs, and bibs for bigger/”destination” races. But I’ve done way too many races to have kept them all.

  5. That is crazy about Taylor! Have they seen Serena?? Not like Serena needs to lose weight, but she is a “bigger girl” (more muscle) and she is unbeatable….I don’t understand.

  6. I keep all my race medals, but only keep my bibs from my favorite half marathons and from all of my marathons. The rest get tossed eventually.
    That is insane about Taylor and the USTA. I think the USTA is way out of line if you want my opinion.

  7. I keep all of my medals, but I don’t have all of the bibs. My husband and I have a very full peg rack of run medals in our office! I enjoy looking through them for inspiration at times. What can I say, they make me happy!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

