GOOD LUCK, RC!

Check out this that I wrote for Women Talk Sports on the RC and RCF (Stephanie Rothstein and Ben Bruce): http://www.womentalksports.com/items/read/3616/1366647

I’ve copy and pasted it below, as well:

The Olympic Trials are upon us and my anticipation and excitement are always overboard in an Olympic year. For example, at age 2, I used to sing the Star Spangled Banner on top of my backyard fort in medal ceremonies when I “played Olympics.” And, when I was 22, I called Comcast in an angry fit of rage when my cable went out just as the Olympic Gymnastics Trials were about to air as “I had been waiting 4 years for this!”

This year, however, I’m adding nervousness to the emotional mix, seeing as I know a few Olympic hopefuls. My “RC” (my self-coined abbreviation for “running coach”) is Stephanie Rothstein, who is competing in the 10,000 meters Friday evening. Her fiancé, Ben Bruce, is competing in the Steeplechase next week.

Post-mini 10K. RC was first American! I was first finisher with a Picky Bars tattoo, a notable distinction.

Steph inspires me with her determination and perseverance, not only in battling numerous injuries before getting diagnosed with Celiac disease, but also in bouncing back from a disappointing experience at the marathon trials this past January. She, along with Lauren Fleshman, invented Picky Bars, and I am ever so grateful for her culinary ingenuity in addition to her stellar coach abilities.

Ben amazes me with his versatility in running (roads, cross country, track  – you name it, he’s pretty good at it) and his ability to leap off of both feet when hurdling barriers. Seriously, don’t you think one would have a dominate leaping foot? Apparently, Ben does not.

Anyways, since Steph and Ben are getting married this fall, I though it’d be fun to play a game of “How Well Do You Know Your Partner?” Something to take their minds off their impending races…

Here’s how Steph and Ben stacked up:

STEPH ABOUT HERSELF:

1. What is your greatest strength as a runner? Determination to never give up.

2. What is your favorite thing to do after a race? Eat a burger and fries. Maybe a little wine.

3. What sport are you most excited to follow at the Olympics that is not track and field/marathon? Gymnastics

4. Who is your all-time favorite athlete, past or present? Rocky

5. What is your favorite Picky Bar flavor? Smooth Caf[feinator]

BEN ABOUT STEPHANIE:

1. What is Stephanie’s greatest strength as a runner? Racing alone, she doesn’t need a pack to help her, she can do most of the work alone. She is also very persistent and doesn’t neglect the little things.

2. What is Stephanie’s favorite thing to do after a race? Burger, fries, coke

3. What sport is Stephanie most excited to follow at the Olympics that is not track and field/marathon? Maybe Gymnastics

4. Who is Steph’s all-time favorite athlete, past or present? Joan Benoit, but if we are talking athletes that do not actually exist she’ll probably say Rocky

5. What is Stephanie’s favorite Picky Bar flavor? Smooth Caffeinator

SCORE: 5/5

BEN ABOUT HIMSELF

  1. 1.  What is your greatest strength as a runner? Being versatile and consistent. Not letting one workout make or break me.

2. What is your favorite thing to do after a race? Have a coke and some greasy and salty food, Mexican food, pizza, or burgers usually do the trick

3. What sport are you most excited to follow at the Olympics that is not track and field/marathon? Haven’t really given it much thought. If all goes well I will be focusing on my race at the Olympics first. Then after, I’ll just watch everything

4. Who is your all-time favorite athlete, past or present? don’t really have a favorite.

5. What is your favorite Picky Bar flavor? Nutless Wonder

STEPHANIE ABOUT BEN:

1. What is Ben’s greatest strength as a runner? Consistency and ability to stay healthy.

2. What is Ben’s favorite thing to do after a race? Drink some beers and talk about the races

3. What sport is Ben most excited to follow at the Olympics that is not track and field/marathon? Gymnastics

4. Who is Ben’s all-time favorite athlete, past or present? Doesn’t have one?

5. What is Ben’s favorite Picky Bar flavor? Nutless Wonder

SCORE: 3/5

 

FINAL QUESTION FOR EACH: What is the hardest part about being in a relationship with a professional athlete, particularly in an Olympic year?

STEPH: The hardest part is hoping they can achieve their dreams and being there along the way to see the ups and downs.

BEN: Most professional athletes in reality have to be a little bit selfish, and at times really selfish. Trying to make a sacrifice for the other can be tough. However, when one or the other in the relationship runs well we both get to share the joy.

I think it’s safe to say Stephanie and Ben know each other very well. Congratulations, you’re peaked for the Olympic Trials and ready to get married!

And, Steph, I’ve never made it though one of those Rocky movies. I can never understand what Sylvester Stallone was saying. Can you maybe translate for me?

Good luck to Steph and Ben as well as all of the other Olympic hopefuls! I’ll be in the stands next week as part of Oiselle’s #totallytrials celebration with sparkly red, white, and blue headband in tow.

TELL ME: ANY ATHLETES YOU ARE PARTICULARLY ROOTING FOR?

I’m going to go run now. I like to wait until high noon, when it is warm and toasty (ok, fine, I just like to sleep in).

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “GOOD LUCK, RC!

  1. Nice article Meggie!

    My new crush is Boyd Martin. He is Australian turned American attempting to make the Equestrian Team. Wow he is one good looking fella.

  2. wonderful write-up on ur kick booty RC!!! Steph is such a phenomenal mentor, athlete, role model, and gritty racer. i was keeping her in my thoughts too yesterday…and while things may have not been exactly how she may have hoped she always has such wonderful perspective and poise….she ran her heart out and has to be proud!! 🙂

  3. I loved that piece you did! So fun. I was definitely rooting for Steph, as well as Amy Hastings and Dathan. Next I’m definitely rooting for Lauren. The OTs are so exciting! So jealz you get to experience them in person!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

