What’s Up Wednesday

First, GO WISH SUSAN A HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

Let’s jump right to it.

1. THE OLYMPIC TRIALS

All of them. Ok, not all of the Olympic Trials — really just Track&Field and Gymnastics. And, guess what?! I’m going to both the T&F and Gymnastics trials! My sparkly USA headband and I are ready!

You know who this is by now, right?

The RC (Steph Rothstein) is running Friday night and I’m beyond excited. I’m basically a 12 out of 10 on the emotional scale, somewhat like when Kristen Bell got a sloth for her birthday. The 1000m final will be on Friday night broadcast on NBC (9-11 pm). You should watch.

Lauren and Ben run on Monday and I bet I’ll still be a 12/10 at that point. And, by the time I get to Eugene next Wednesday, I’ll be so amped up I probably won’t even need coffee. Ok, lies, I always need coffee.

Anyways, on a related note you should go read this article about Lauren.

On the gymnastics front, I’m curious to see if McKayla Maroney can recover from her concussion she suffered last week. She is by far the world’s best vaulter (and she knows it, too).

Ok, enough Olympics. We’ve got all summer for that.

2. DRYBAR

On Monday I had a professional portrait taken for grown-up things like medical school. The fact that it is hot and humid in NYC coupled with the fact that I had always wanted to try one of these blow-dry only places prompted me to booked myself an appointment at Drybar.

Drybar

It was rather nice to have someone blow out your hair and it did look nice. For me, it will never be quite “worth it” (its $40) seeing as I go run or workout and get said perfect blow out nice and sweaty. I would go to them again for an event or wedding, should the need arise. They did a great job with timely service. Plus, I got to drink coffee while my hair was blown out. Killing two birds with one stone, I tell you.

3. HAIR TIES THAT DON’T LOOK LIKE RUBBER BANDS

They had some of these satin hair ties at Drybar so I got one.

a chic version of a rubber band

I like that you can disguise as a somewhat cool bracelet, rather than wearing a rubber band around your wrist (like I’ve done for the past 15 years of my life).

4. MY AWARD FROM THAT 5K I RAN IN EUGENE

DREAMS DO COME TRUE, PEOPLE!

When the front desk dude gave me a package from “The Eugene Marathon,” I got way too excited (like Kristen Bell + sloth), prompting my front desk homie to ask me what this was. Yeah, sounded sort of lame like “I won my age group in a race in Oregon,” but seeing as this may be the only running award, plaque, trophy, etc I will ever get, I’m basking in it.

Ahh, memories – the race that started the #5Krevolution.

Look, Mom! Dreams do come true! We are SO putting this on the mantle!

5. ANOTHER SUCCESSFUL T$ RUN

I don’t know what has gotten into me. Anyways, I decided since my next race isn’t until end of July, I would hold off on a track workout and do another tempo. I know, what is happening to me? Why would I do that to myself?

Anyways, I went out for “just another 4 mile easy T$” and succeeded to, yet again, NOT STOP. That would be two consecutive tempos in a row where I haven’t “taken a time-out.”

For your numbers people, it went down as follows: 8:33, 8:07, 8:06, 7:55.

So maybe it was a progression run. Whatever it was, it was a continuous hardish effort that got harder as it went along, but I felt like I could run one more mile. Maybe.

A few key things I think we can all glean from “Meggie and the Saga of the Trying Tempos:”

  1. Don’t put pressure on the first mile. In fact, I’d venture to tell you not even look at your watch after the first mile. Just go off of how it feels.
  2. Wear a hat as it gives you sort of automatic tunnel vision. You just focus on what is through the brim of your hat. No, do not wear a sombrero.
  3. Respect the heat and humidity.
  4. Try to make your workouts “base hits” rather than looking for a “grand slam.” A lot of base hits will add up to something great, whereas one grand slam with a bunch of strike outs doesn’t do much for you overall.

YOU KNOW THE DRILL: TELL ME SOMETHING AWESOME ABOUT THIS WEEK? WHAT SPORT ARE YOU MOST EXCITED FOR ABOUT THE OLYMPIC TRIALS? ATHLETE MOST EXCITED TO WATCH?

Until next time…

13 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I love the video when KB gets a sloth!

    Also, TAKE LOTS OF PICTURES AT TRIALS!!! Pictures of anything really. The runners/gymnasts, food, the track, nature, your outfits, other people’s outfits, signs….really just capture the moment as though I am there.

  2. Oh hey! I’m a huge track and gymnastics fan, too. Loved Lauren’s interview, and bummed about McKayla’s injury. Can’t wait for the proceedings to begin — so jealous you’ll get to be there in person!

  3. Cannot WAIT for the gymnastics trials. (I’ll be there Friday night – you?) I’m pretty pumped that we also have a shiny new DVR just in time for the Olympics!

  4. Thanks for the shoutout!!!

    Super jealous of your trials adventures…I need to scope out if they’re on DVR and then not move from my couch. Gymnastics would be so cool too ahhhhh.

    Coffee while getting your hair done….genius.

    PS New interns started this week, they’re SO CUTE. And enthusiastic.

  5. I enjoyed reading the LF article yesterday. And man, I’ve always wanted to go to one of those professional blow dry places. Someday…
    Cool award and T$ run. Excited to met you in a week!

  6. I LOVE the Kristen Bell sloth video!! hahahahaha. And uber jealous of your OT experiences. I’m so excited for both of them! I hope I can stay awake to watch on Friday night – I’ll be cheering for Steph! I’ll be pulling for Lauren too. Yayyy Olympics! Hope you have so much fun out there!

  7. i’m redic excited about the Trials!! hehe…any race over 1 lap i’m all over!! no lost love to the others, but i’m more a dist chick. 🙂

    SO stoked…look at u ripping thru those tempos!! i think the biggest thing is that after u crested that barrier of the FIRST one uninterrupted u now KNOW that u can keep going and are more confident…and look at those negative splits…i’m so proud. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

