When I Grow Up…

First of all, HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

Sleeping on the job…

Nice shorts, Dad.

Easter circa 1989 or 1990 or somewhere thereabouts

I lucked out in the parents department – I have a wonderful Mom and Dad who (whom? ahh, need grammar help) I have a great deal of respect for. I’m not sure I’ll ever live up to my parents. They are fantastic.

My sis sent me some sweet pics today, a few vintage gems from our childhood (including the ones above).

Here is one of my favorites:

Am I trying to “work it” at age 3 or 4?

This picture reminded me that my life’s ambition at that time was to be a Walt Disney World dancer. You know, those ones that dance with Mickey and Minnie in front of Cinderella Castle?

Yes, for the first 7 years of my life, that was my dream and I do distinctly remember my dance teacher telling me that if I worked hard enough, I could do it. Glad she didn’t crush my Disney dancing dreams.

Around the age of 8, I upgraded to being a Rockette. Unfortunately, I would’ve been too short to have been a Rockette so it’s a good thing I hung up the tap shoes at age 10 to focus on gymnastics only.

Fun fact: you need to be between 5’6 and 5’10” 1/2 to audition to be a Rockette. [I am a towering 5’3″]

From about age 12 to 17, I wanted to be a news anchor or talk show host because I like asking questions and talking to people. Around age 17, I realized most people liked to do that and that I was good at science. So, I decided I’d go to medical school (and I won’t give you all the reasons of “why medicine” as that will turn into an essay!).

So, here I am, 9 years later, 1 year shy short of that medical degree and on my way to becoming “what I wanted to be when I grew up,” except it will take me approximately 4 to 7 more years to become “what I want to be when I grow up,” but that’s neither here nor there.

So, to recap, career aspirations trajectory: Disney dancer –> Rockette –> news anchor or talk show host –> doctor.

One of my favorite things about this blog is hearing from other people.

SO, TELL ME: WHAT DID YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU WERE A CHILD? A TEENAGER? NOW?

Oh, one last gem of my sister, who has always valued her sleep:

Napping like a champ.

Until next time…

12 thoughts on “When I Grow Up…

  1. Omg! Not to brag, but I got to be a Disney world dancer a couple weeks ago and cannot wait to share the video with you! I definitely wanted to be a gymnast but was taller than the Olympic team by 3rd grade, then ice skater, then anyone who gets paid to live in France. Still haven’t given up on that dream…currently working at Disney World (which was another thing I always wanted to be) and hoping that one day I may be lucky enough to work in some capacity in France.

    Thank you so much for sharing your dreams πŸ™‚

  2. As a child, I wanted to be an artist. As a teenager, I wanted to be an editor or writer at a women’s or teen magazine. It’s no longer my dream, but I feel pretty lucky that I got to “try it out” for two years in college! And now I’m happy working as a newspaper editor. πŸ™‚

  3. haha, I love this post. You were adorable. I honestly have no idea what I wanted to be when I was really little, but most likely something “glamourous” like a Disney dancer or a movie star or something. Then I changed my mind and wanted to be a doctor for a long time until freshman year in college, although I remember a time in 6th grade when I wanted to be a dietitian. I should have just stuck with that plan, it would have saved me a lot of time and $$. haha.

  4. 1. You kind of look like Christina Aguilera when she was in her Mickey Mouse Club days in that one photo!

    2. I wanted to be Mickey Mouse when I was 5. Then I wanted to be a Secretary at Take Your Daughter to work days because they were the “nicest people in the office”. And that leads me to today, where I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. Oops.

  5. Very sweet pictures! I think that I lucked out in the parent department too (my hubby was not so lucky!). I wanted to be a gazillion things when I was growing up. I think it goes something like this, in no particular order: librarian, lawyer, country singer, vet. Hmmm. I ended up being none of those! πŸ™‚

  6. When I was young, I wanted to be cooler, stronger, faster, smarter.
    When I got older, I wanted to be wealthier, more important, a leader, I wanted it all.
    Now that I’m old, I just want to go to bed before 10pm.

    πŸ™‚

  7. Love the pics!

    When I was about 4 I wanted to be a pediatric cardiologist. Not a joke… but it was only because I had a little sister with heart problems. Then for a long time it was architect or interior designer… I spend a LOT of free time from ages 10-15 using that software you get if you’re actually trying to design and build your own house or something. Then high school English teacher, which is what I wanted to be when I started college, and then geologist. Now I’m a geologist. Currently an oil and gas geologist, and it is fun and helps me pay off my student loans, but one day when I REALLY grow up I want to do something with rivers. Maybe like dams or dam removal or stream restoration. Kind of nerdy but I like it!

  8. u are way too cute!!! i’m so happy u have a fab dad too…hehe. πŸ™‚ okay, yea, i went thru phases of wat i wanted to be….the first thing i think i wanted to be was a vet…then i learned how much school that would take. SO that’s why my hat is off to u girl…keep it up, u rock!!

  9. I wanted to be a mailman when I was little…then an astronaut…then a doctor…then a nurse. Well, maybe. I don’t know if I still want to be a nurse, but here we are. πŸ™‚

    I’m too short for the Rockettes too…and I can’t kick my leg over my head. haha.

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

