What’s Up on National Running Day

REMINDER: YOU HAVE UNTIL NEXT TUESDAY TO ENTER TO WIN A OISELLE PINK “START TO FINISH” TEE. GO ENTER. IT’S SUCH A CUTE SHIRT. I WANT ONE MYSELF. I WANT TO ENTER MY OWN CONTEST.

But, I won’t.

Anyways, without further ado…

1. NATIONAL RUNNING DAY

This should be the poster for National Running Day, don’t you think?

Here’s a quote that sort of demonstrates what running means to me (minus me being a writer):

How vain it is to sit down to write when you have not stood up to live! Methinks that the moment my legs begin to move, my thoughts begin to flow, as if I had given vent to the stream at the lower end and consequently new fountains flowed into it at the upper. A thousand rills which have their rise in the sources of thought burst forth and fertilize my brain. You need to increase the draught below, as the owners of meadows on Concord River say of the Billerica Dam. Only while we are in action is the circulation perfect. The writing which consists with habitual sitting is mechanical, wooden, dull to read. – Henry David Thoreau

Running gives me sanity, structure, and satisfaction.

That would be the face of satisfaction…

I celebrated appropriately by running for 60 minutes today.

2. MINI 10K

This race is usually fun. I ran it last year and in 2009 (my 2nd 10K and maybe 3rd race ever at the time, although race is a strong word for how I was running it).

In 2009, my goal was not to walk, which I achieved. I finished in 1:00:11 (and thanks to NYRR for having all of your results readily available).

Last year, I ran it after taking about 3 weeks off after the New Jersey Marathon. I went out way too fast and wanted to die by the 5K point. I remember seeing Megan somewhere in mile 4 and wanting to yell “HELP ME.” It was also very humid last year, if I remember correctly. I also remember seeing Ali at the finish and asking her “if wordpress was hard to use.” I guess you can see I figured it out.

This year I hope to run well. I’d be cool to PR if the conditions are favorable. I hope to not feel like yelling “HELP ME” at the half way point. My legs are feeling pretty dead today so we’ll see if they get it together by Saturday.

If you’re cheering, YELL FOR THE RC! She is running!

You can yell “GO STEPH” or “GO RC” – I think she would get the reference. Secretly, I just want everyone to yell “GO RC” so the term “RC” goes viral.

Steph, I am sorry, but I had to use your twitter picture. Don’t hate me for pic stealing. I just wanted to make sure I had the right color outfit so my people could accurately recognize you.

3. DANCE MOMS IS BACK!

Life is good again.

4. VISA US GYMNASTICS CHAMPIONSHIPS

Shawn’s retired. Nastia’s back.

Nastia competing a week and a half ago.

And a whole bunch of other gymnasts vying for 5 precious spots.

I have a feeling Tim Dagget (commentator) will say “UNBELIEVABLE” at least 10 times during each broadcast (there are 2 days of competition).

5. MEGHAN VOGEL WHO HELPED THE GIRL ACROSS THE FINISH LINE

…after another runner started cramping in the last few meters…

What a great sport…You go girl.

TELL ME: ANYTHING ROCKING YOUR WEEK? EXCITED FOR THE FRENCH [OPEN] FINALS? GYMNASTICS NATIONAL CHAMPS? TRACK? DIVING? SWIMMING? WATER POLO?

I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t been keeping up with the French as much as I should…

Until next time…

8 thoughts on “What’s Up on National Running Day

  1. I ran the Mini 10K in 2009, too. I just picked it as one of my 9+1, not knowing the history behind it. It was pretty cool to get a medal and a rose at the end. I finished in 1:00:xx, too. 🙂

    It’s not this week, but I’m excited for the Olympic Marathon!

  2. I am glad that you ran at least a mile for me Meggie. I obviously had a pretty crappy “National Running Day” this year. Boo to stupid anterior compartment syndrome. How in the heck did I even run Eugene let along train on this for well over 7 months?! I already know I have a high tolerance for pain, but REALLY?! Oye!

  3. so excited for the gymnastics! and of course the Tim and Elfi commentary. it’s going to be awesome. I have mixed feelings about Nastia – if she’s truly back to her old self then she’s obviously an asset to the team, but otherwise she’s just taking a spot away from someone else, you know? hmm.

  4. Ugh I died at Mile 4 of the Mini 10k last year! Hoping to have a much better race this year, we’ll see! Excited to see you though! I’m so happy that you’re running again! Super exciting! Also, call me crazy but I can’t stand Nastia Liukin. Girl needs to learn to smile!

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

