What’s Up Wednesday: Cookies For Kids’ Cancer Edition

If you’ve read this blog, you might be familiar with Cookies For Kids’ Cancer. To jog your memory, I held a bake sale in the fall to raise money for the charity and managed not to eat everything that was baked before the bake sale.

Evidence I didn’t eat all of the cookie dough…

Cookies For Kids’ Cancer is a charity started by Gretchen and Larry Witt, whose son, Liam Witt, died from neuroblastoma (a particularly aggressive childhood cancer) in January 2011, the same cancer that took the life of my brother in 1991.

Gretchen and Liam

I think it should be noted that Gretchen and Larry started the charity when Liam was cancer-free. They saw that many potential treatments for Liam and his hospital buddies were unavailable due to funding and that very little of the money raised for cancer research is allocated to childhood cancers. For instance, only 1% of the American Cancer Society funds go to childhood cancer.

Little Prince Liam the Brave

What started as a Christmas bake sale has morphed into a charity aimed at bringing new therapies for childhood cancer from the bench to the bedside.

May 13 would have been Liam Witt’s 8th Birthday. To celebrate Liam’s life, the Cookies community has rallied this May. Here are some ways you can help, if you’d like.

1. LIAM’S BIRTHDAY BASH

This is not your average bake sale! Sponsored by Apple Seeds, Sneaky Pete’s Beverages, Thrive4Nutrition, and Brownie Brittle, this event promises to be huge! There are even some NYC “top” chefs participating – Chef Josh Capon of Lure Fishbar and B&B Restaurant…Chef Dan Kluger of ABC Kitchen…Hill Country Barbecue…Mondrian SOHO…Maialino…Blue Smoke…The Modern. No small birthday party for Liam!

Not your average bake sale…

The bake sale is at the same time as Madison Square Park’s KidsFest so if you have kids, sounds like the perfect opportunity for a Saturday outing!

I can’t be there as my brother’s graduation is on Saturday, so I’m relying on all of you to eat my share of cookies! Tweet me pictures if you go! [Seriously, please do — I’m @meggiesmith].

2. BIC BANDS

BIC Bands has made Cookies For Kids’ Cancer their designated charity for May and April. So, order up, people!

Here is SkinnyRunner sporting a mighty find pic band. Picture from SkinnyRunner.

Personally, I’m going to order gunmetal, petal pink, orchid pink, red, blue, green…

3. GENERAL DONATION PAGE FOR LIAM’S BIRTHDAY BASH

Liam’s Birthday Bash is put together by the people I babysit for, Mary and Colbert Cannon, as well as good cookie extraordinaire, Rachel Roberge. Their goal is $50,000 – and they’re almost halfway there. WOW!

4. BROWNIE BRITTLE

Use the code “GOOD COOKIES” in any online order between now and 8/31/12 — 20% of those purchases will go to Cookies For Kids’ Cancer.

What can be bad about brownies?

5. ORDER/SEND COOKIES ONLINE [from the Cookies for Kids’ Cancer website]

I’ve had these lemon sugar cookies. They are really good.

I’ve eaten these cookies myself (lemon sugar, chocolate chip, and peanut butter) and they’re Martha Stewart “it’s a good thing” quality.

You can feel free to send me some, should you be looking for someone to send some to.

—-

On a somewhat related note, I’m almost through an amazing book called Blood Brothers, which is memoir by Lisa Solis Delong about facing childhood leukemia not once, but twice. I’ve found it interesting on a personal level as I think I’m always trying to understand more about what my parents went through (I was 5 when my brother was sick). However, there are many relatable themes in this book, including faith, spirituality, and how to deal with life’s many challenges.

Good, quick read…

I had the pleasure of meeting Lisa when I was in Eugene. While Gretchen has found her calling in raising money for pediatric cancer research, Lisa has found hers in helping families cope with the shock of a childhood cancer diagnosis, in bereavement counseling, and in end of life care issues. Her book and work is inspiring.

TELL ME: WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE CHARITY AND WHY?

Since I’ve spent so much time talking about Cookies For Kids’ Cancer, I’d love to hear your favorite causes.

Until next time..

16 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday: Cookies For Kids’ Cancer Edition

  1. With the type of situations they handle, it feels a little strange to call it a “favorite” charity, but this is one that is very close to my heart:
    Holly’s House, http://www.hollyshouse.org
    In 1997, 20-year-old Holly Dunn was attacked, raped and left for dead near her college campus in Kentucky. Two years later, her attacker killed my mother, along with more than a dozen other people in the months before he was caught. Holly testified at the trial and he was eventually found guilty and put to death in 2006, eight years later. Her charity is a safe haven for adults and children to report violent crimes.I always knew about Holly’s story, but didn’t get in touch and communicate with her until I was 22. I hope I’ll finally get to meet her in person soon.

  2. Following the childhood cancer theme, I love the Children’s Cancer Association. I’ve volunteered with them for 2 years now and they do wonderful things for kids with cancer.

    Cookies for Kid’s Cancer is a wonderful idea.

  3. What a wonderful charity! My favorite charity is Songs of Love (songsoflove.org), which provides personalized songs for children with serious illnesses. I’ve been recording songs for this organization with my family since I was 8 years old, so it’s a charity very close to my heart.

  4. Love this, Meggie! And your continued advocacy for Cookies for Kids’ Cancer – you’re helping them do great things! Charities involving kids and cancer always tug at my heartstrings and are up there whenever I can donate. Also Hospice, because they have done wonderful things for my family during really hard times and I can’t imagine how hard that job is, you know?

    Also, having just read Emilia’s comment, I would also donate to Holly’s House in a heartbeat.

  5. Megs, have you read My Sister’s Keeper? Any thoughts on that? I did not know you had a bro. In 1991 you would have been about 13 or 14?

  6. I love this! I am so glad they are BIC Bands charity this month, I need to go buy a few.

    I’ve recently been looking into charities for congenital heart disease, as well as contributing to the ones my sister and brother in law are involved with.

  7. I didn’t know about your brother (total lurker) but you should check out Camp Sunshine in Maine. It’s a camp dedicated to children with life threatening illnesses AND their families. So they siblings come too and we give them just as much love an attention as the sick child. It’s amazing. I volunteer there about 2 weeks a year and it’s amazing. It totally changed my life!

  8. Hopefully this isn’t a double comment? It’s making me comment using my old blog name. Weird. Anyway, I am a total lurker and don’t know the story with your brother but it sounds like you would connect with my favorite charity. It’s called Camp Sunshine and is in Maine. It’s a camp for kids with life threatening illnesses AND their families. So their siblings come and we spoil them and give them just as much attention as the sick child. And the parents go to a support group while we’re with the kids all day. It’s amazing and volunteering there has totally changed my life!

  9. Pingback: The Wednesday Regular « The Thinks I Can Think

Don't be shy, leave a reply!

